Skip to content

Faculty Committee on Equity and Inclusion


The Faculty Committee on Equity and Inclusion identifies, and shares with the Senate, effective approaches to cultivating a culture of equity, inclusivity, and respect that enhance the success of all faculty within a pluralistic context. It will alert the Senate to issues on campus that require attention, and will make recommendations for how the Senate can be helpful in addressing these issues, in collaboration with the Provost’s office and the Provost’s Diversity Committee. This committee will work with the Senate Executive Board to plan and implement two mini-retreats a year (one in the fall and one in the spring) that aim to enhance campus climate at USC. Topics might include how to better recruit, retain, and support a diverse faculty; how to achieve more gender equity in STEM fields; or how to help faculty to have difficult dialogues about culture in the classroom.

Specific Charge for the 2023-2024 Academic Year

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) education is central to USC’s mission and one of our unifying values. The Committee on Equity and Inclusion will reach out to USC schools to determine the processes they are using to incorporate DEI in their educational offerings and assess their effectiveness in advancing DEI in the school curriculum. Key questions the committee will consider are:
– What are the processes currently used at the school for integrating DEI in the curriculum?
– How are educational offerings evaluated for DEI? What are the review criteria used? What assessment tools (e.g. syllabus review checklists) are employed?
– What is the role of faculty at the school in formulating and implementing policies and procedures for DEI education?
The committee will also highlight exemplary practices at the schools for providing a cutting-edge education to students on DEI issues.

Meetings: Contact committee chair for the date/locations of the committee meetings.


LaVonna B. Lewis,, Price School of Public Policy

USC - Viterbi School of Engineering - Viterbi Faculty Directory

Rob Parke (Co-Chair) –, Viterbi School of Engineering

Committee members

● Marco Aponte-Moreno,, Marshall School of Business
● Terry David Church,, Alfred E. Mann School of Pharmacy
● Cheng Yu Hou,, Bovard College
● Chanita Hughes-Halbert,, Keck School of Medicine
● Brandi P. Jones,, Rossier School of Education
● John Margetis,, Chan Division/Occupational Therapy
● Tanvi Patel,, Dornsife College
● Hannah Schilperoort,, USC Libraries
● Naomi Warren,, Marshall School of Business
● Heather Wipfli,, Keck School of Medicine
● An-Min Wu,, Dornsife College
● Miki Turner (Executive Board Liaison),, Annenberg School for Communication


Spring 2019 Campus Climate Presentation and Lunch

Photos by Artineh Samkian