Mentoring

Charge

The Mentoring Committee advises the Provost on faculty-to-faculty mentoring issues. The committee is charged each year with a specific focus to advance excellent mentoring at USC. The committee reports on its activities to the Academic Senate and Provost on a regular basis.

Specific Charge for 2021-2022 Academic Year

This year’s committee will examine the current state of faculty-to-faculty mentoring, attending to how the pandemic has impacted faculty mentoring processes and needs. Specifically, the committee will assess the alignment between schools’ promotion and tenure guidelines and formal/informal mentoring structures. In addition, the committee will seek to understand how formal and informal mentoring in schools also prepare faculty for leadership roles as committee chairs or program/departmental leads. This work will inform the committee’s recommendations on supporting faculty-to-faculty mentoring.

Susan Enguidanos (Co-Chair), enguidan@usc.edu

Gioia Polidori (Co-Chair), gpolidor@usc.edu

Committee members

Victor Adamchik, adamchik@usc.edu, Viterbi
Scott Applebaum, sappleba@usc.edu, Dornsife/Environmental
Norah Ashe-McNalley, ashe@usc.edu, Dornsife/Writing
Susan Enguidanos (Co-Chair), enguidan@usc.edu, Gerontology
Jane James, janejame@usc.edu, Dworak-Peck School
Courtney Malloy, clm@usc.edu, Rossier
Gagan Mathur, gaganmat@usc.edu, Keck/CHLA
Gioia Polidori (Co-Chair), gpolidor@usc.edu, Dornsife/Biological Sciences
Gigi Ragusa, ragusa@usc.edu, Viterbi
Carlos Sanchez, cesanche@usc.edu, Ostrow
John Watson, jkwatson@cinema.usc.edu, Cinematic Arts
Linda Yaron, lyaron@usc.edu, Dornsife/Physical Education
Gabriel Zada (EB Liaison), Gabriel.Zada@med.usc.edu, Keck School
Ginger Clark (Ex-Officio),ginger.clark@usc.edu, Center for Excellence in Teaching

 

Report