Nominating Committee Election, November 2021

Candidates Short Bios

Dr. Darnell Cole is an Associate Professor in Education of Higher Education and Education Psychology. He serves as Co-Director for the Center for Education, Identity and Social Justice. His areas of research include race/ ethnicity, diversity, college student experiences, and learning. He has published over 45 peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, and a co-edited book. He has served as a visiting Scholar at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and also as a Research Scholar in Residence for the Centre of Transcultural Studies at Temasek Polytechnic in Singapore. He was recently awarded a Fulbright to work with the University of Technology-Sydney in Australia to explore how higher education institutions increase both the quality and workforce development goals for minorities and women in STEM fields.

Sandeep Gupta is a past President of Academic Senate and a past Chair of Engineering Faculty Council. He has served on, chaired, or co-chaired several University-level committees, especially the Faculty Handbook Committee. He has received the Academic Senate's Service Award.

Sandeep is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has served as a department chair for two terms, and has research interest in design and test of digital systems. He has received Viterbi School's Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award.

Anikó Imre is a Professor of Cinematic Arts in the Division of Cinema and Media Studies and the Media Arts and Practice PhD Program, and Associate Faculty in Comparative Literature. She has published six books and lectured widely in global media studies, (post)socialist media, critical feminist, race and nationalism studies, critical data and surveillance studies and media industry studies. At USC, she has served as division chair, director of graduate and undergraduate studies, on the Academic Senate Executive Board, the University Committee of Academic Reviews (UCAR), and various other committees.

Dr. Jennifer Israel is Associate Professor, Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology at Keck School of Medicine (KSOM) of USC.

She currently serves KSOM and Keck Medical Center as a Peer Coach for Professionalism. She is KSOM Faculty Council Past President, and an Academic Senator. She co-leads the Sexual Harassment Working Group at the Center for Gender Equity in Medicine and Science (GEMS) at KSOM. She is a member of the NASEM Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment in Higher Education, and Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee.

She served on the USC Senate Executive Board 2020-2021. She is familiar with the governance structure and is committed to nominating inclusive and just candidates.