1	ACADEMIC SENATE
2	Resolution 20/21-03
3	Academic Senate Representation
4	
5 6	WHEREAS the Senate's Constitution, Art. IV, states in relevant part:
7 8 9	Section 1. The Academic Senate is the representative body of the faculty at large for university-wide issues.
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17	Section 2. The voting members of the Academic Senate are: (a) the elected president or one other elected member of the faculty council in each school, the College, and each Division in the College (or the closest equivalent elected faculty officer, by whatever title); (b) additional delegates from the school faculty councils, selected as provided in Section 4 below; (c) the executive officers of the faculty and Members at Large of the Executive Board.
18 19	Section 3. The University Libraries and the Retired Faculty Association shall each be represented in the Academic Senate as separate entities.
20 21 22 23 24 25	Section 4. The faculty of each school, by referendum, will decide how the additional delegates from that school to the Academic Senate will be selected. Unless a school decides otherwise, they will be selected from among those the faculty elects to the school's faculty council.
26 27 28 29	Section 5. The total size of the Academic Senate will be at least 40 and not more than 80 members Apportionment of additional delegates will take into account the proportionate size of the faculty in each school.
30 31 32	but nowhere states how "schools" are determined, nor how the number of any additional delegates is to be determined.
33 34	WHEREAS the University Bylaw 9.1 lists the "Schools and Colleges of the University" as:
35 36 37 38	(a) USC Dana and David Dornsife College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences USC School of International Relations USC School of Philosophy USC School of Religion
39 40	(b) USC Graduate School (c) USC Bovard College
41 42	(d) USC School of Architecture (e) USC Gordon S. Marshall School of Business
43 44	<ul><li>(f) USC Elaine and Kenneth Leventhal School of Accounting</li><li>(g) USC School of Cinematic Arts</li></ul>
45	(h) USC Jimmy Iovine and Andre Young Academy – Arts, Technology and
46	the Business of Innovation
47 48	(i) USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
48 49	<ul><li>(j) USC Glorya Kaufman School of Dance</li><li>(k) Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC</li></ul>

50	(I) USC School of Dramatic Arts
51	(m) USC Barbara J. and Roger W. Rossier School of Education
52	(n) USC Andrew and Erna Viterbi School of Engineering
53	(o) USC Gayle Garner Roski School of Art and Design
54	(p) USC Leonard Davis School of Gerontology
55	(q) USC Gould School of Law
56	(r) Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
57	(s) USC Flora L. Thornton School of Music
58	(t) USC School of Pharmacy
59	(u) USC Sol Price School of Public Policy
60	(v) USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
61	and such other schools and Colleges as the Board may establish.
62	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
63	WHEREAS we must balance the benefits of a smaller Senate (better
64	deliberation) and a larger one (better representativity);
65	a on z or a training of the (z or
66	WHEREAS the Senate believes that to have reasonably proportional
67	representation, larger schools should have more than one senator, but no one
68	school should constitute more than one-third of the Senate;
69	
70	BE IT RESOLVED THAT to the Senate's Bylaws shall added Bylaw 19:
71	
72	Bylaw 19: Senate representation.
73	,
74	A. Every "school" that (a) is listed in University Bylaw 9.1 and (b) has its
75	own faculty, and (c) has an established Faculty Council shall have at least
76	one elected senator (elected in accordance to the USC Academic Senate
77	Constitution and By-Laws) serving on the Senate. Pursuant to this rule,
78	the Graduate School does not have a senator because it does not have
79	any independent faculty.
80	In addition, because the Libraries and the Retired Faculty Association
81	have faculty who are not affiliated with any "school," but who are actively
82	engaged in teaching, research and/or service at the university, both of
83	those units shall have an elected senator representing them on the
84	Senate (in accordance with Senate's Constitution, Art. IV).
85	
86	B. Senate representation should be based on the total number of
87	Tenure/Tenure-Track and RTPC faculty who work at least 50% time at
88	USC.
89	
90	C. The number of Senators for each school shall be detrmined using the
91	following scale based on the total number of Tenure/Tenure-Track and
92	RTPC faculty who work at least 50% time at USC:
93	<200=1
94	200<300=2
95	300<400=3
96	400<500=4

97

98 99 500<600=5

600<700=6 700<800=7

100	800<900=8
101	900<1,000=9
102	1000<1500=10
103	1500<2000=11
104	2000<2500=12
105	2500<3000=13
106	
107	D. The allocation of Senators will be reevaluated every five academic
108	years based on a moving average of the past five years' headcounts.
109	
110	BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER THAT, since using this new scale will raise the
111	number of voting Senators by from 35 to 46 and the total number of voting and
112	non-voting Senators from 75 to 86, the Senate Constitution Article IV, Section
113	5, shall be amended to read in part:
114	
115	Section 5. The total size of the Academic Senate, including both voting
116	and non-voting Senators, will be at least 40 and not more than 100
117	members
118	
119	BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER THAT Faculty Councils are encouraged to divide
120	voting senator positions among within-school programs or divisions, and to
121	coordinate updates, communication with EB, and other reporting accordingly.
122	
123	
124	Resolution Number: 20/21-03
125	Motion by: Executive Board
126	Date: Dec 16, 2020
127	Second Read and Vote: January 20, 2021
128	
129	Action taken: Passed - 13 in favor, no opposed, 4 abstention
130	